AMUG Gives Out DINO Awards

Award recognizes experience and service.

Award recognizes experience and service.

Front row (left to right): Brett Charlton, Rory Jackson, Tuan Tranpham, and Jeremy Pullin. Back row (Left to right): Jordan Weston, Jay Dinsmore, Nate Schumaker, Bob Markley, and Rick Moore. Missing: Brett Lyons. Image courtesy of AMUG.

The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) has presented its DINO (Distinguished INnovator Operator) Award for additive manufacturing expertise and service to 10 individuals. The awards were presented at the 31st annual users group conference held in Chicago.

Standing before over 2,000 members, AMUG representatives presented the DINO Awards in recognition of tenure in the additive manufacturing (AM) industry, years of service, contributions to the AM industry and active support of the users group.

“This award recognizes not only experience but also character and passion,” says Gary Rabinovitz, AMUG chairperson and DINO Committee chair. “Following a lengthy nomination and review process, the committee selected 10 deserving individuals from dozens of qualified candidates.” 

The newly named DINOs are Brett Charlton, BD; Jay Dinsmore, Dinsmore Associates; Rory Jackson, RAMP Inc.; Brett Lyons, Jabil Additive; Bob Markley, 3rd Dimension Industrial 3D Printing; Rick Moore, U.S. Army; Jeremy Pullin, Sartorius Stedim; Nate Schumaker, Midwest Prototyping; Tuan Tranpham, Desktop Metal; and Jordan Weston, Milwaukee School of Engineering.

“The eight-person selection committee had a big challenge in selecting our DINO Award recipients,” says Paul Bates, AMUG president. “As I heard the credentials of each described from the presentation stage, and knowing these individuals personally, I knew that it had selected wisely.”

The DINO Award recognizes those that have contributed to the additive manufacturing industry with the intent to advance the industry as a whole or to advance the skills and knowledge of individuals. The new DINOs’ efforts behind the scenes and from the public stage have advanced the technology and the applications that leverage its capabilities.

“AMUG’s tenet is ‘For Users, By Users,’ and its success comes from a community where individuals share insights to help one another,” Bates adds. “Our 10 DINOs have actively participated in the sharing and getting involved with the activities that build the foundation for the community and the AMUG Conference experience.”

Over its 31-year history, AMUG has awarded only 159 DINOs. AMUG limits this award to no more than 10 individuals each year. Nominations for 2020 DINO candidates will be accepted beginning October 1, 2019.

Sources: Press materials received from the company and additional information gleaned from the company’s website.

Share This Article

About the Author

DE Editors's avatar
DE Editors

DE’s editors contribute news and new product announcements to Digital Engineering. Press releases can be sent to them via [email protected].

Follow DE